Memories Of My First Car

Beautiful Ride

The second I saw this stamp set I knew I had to have it!  My first car I ever bought was a Volkswagon Bug.  I paid $300 for it and I loved it!  Well, I loved it when I lived at home.  When I moved to Northern New York, I wasn’t feeling the love.  In the winter I had to drive with a blanket on my lap and a ice scrapper in my hand.  The car did not have heat or a defroster.  Once I tried to drive in January with my son David, who was about one years old to go visit my mother.  I got about 30 miles before I had to turn around.  I was frozen.  I think I had frostbite.  After that, all I wanted was a car with heat and defrost.  Now?  I want a car with heated seats, bluetooth technology, and back up camera, etc.  Those days sure were simpler!

The second thought I had about this stamp set happened after I saw the little “love” stamp with the peace sign for the “o”.  I knew then I had to figure out a way to tie dye the car.  First I embossed it with Versamark and Black Embossing Powder.  Then I took an Aqua Brush and dipped it into all different colors of ink.  I am not sure how tie dyed it looks but it was close enough!

Don’t forget it is Sale-a-bration time! Earn FREE merchandise with a qualifying purchase! Get an extra $25 in Hostess Benefits with a $250 workshop (or order)! Join my Stampin Up! family and get a $155 worth of product for $99!

Blog Signature-001

4 thoughts on “Memories Of My First Car

  1. Eeek – I love the tie-dye!! You did a great job on it, Susan! What was it about those VW Bugs back then? I had a coworker who owned one; I actually preferred to take the bus than get a ride with her on winter days! LOL

    Like

    • Thanks, Deborah. The VW thing for me was the price. I wish I could buy a car for $300 now! When I bought it I lived in a warmer climate. If I had known I would be moving to the frozen north, I would have bought something with heat!

      Like

Leave a Reply

