Sitting Here

Sitting Here

This is the first card we made at our monthly stamp club.  It uses a new set from the 2016 Annual Catalog called Sitting Here.  I love this stamp set because it reminds me of a glider we had on the porch of our old house.  Rob bought it for me for my birthday one year and I loved it.  We would sit there for hours talking to the people walking by and watching our children play in the park across the street.  The set also has a sleeping cat and dog to go with it.

I made the pillows using a technique I learned at OnStage in April.  Glenda Travelstead showed us a technique to add a 3D look to balloons which also worked on these pillows.  Basically you take the end of a pen or Aqua Painter and run the back side of the pillows in the middle being careful not to get too close to the edges.  This breaks down the fibers of the paper a bit and gives it a rounded look.  Then you put a Dimensional behind it so it pops out from the cardstock.  It is easy to do and a lot of fun!

Happy Birthday, Char.  I hope you have an awesome day!

Blog Signature-001 Product List

4 thoughts on “Sitting Here

  1. Such a sweet card, Susan! I love the “fluffy pillow” technique. I had forgotten all about that. How did you do the background? Sponging? Watersplash? (I just made that up. It’s not a real technique, as far as I know) or paper?

    Like

  2. Lucky you, Susan! I’ve always wanted a house with a wrap-around porch, and a swing/glider on it. I think I could get comfy on this one 🙂 Great card, and I really like the watercolour wash background.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

