Duoprinting With Chlorophyll

Hello everyone!  It is time for another Stamp Off Challenge.  This time we needed to make a card using flowers or leaves with a technique.

When I saw this, I knew exactly what I wanted to try.  It is called Duoprinting with Chlorophyll.  This is where you take a real leaf and run it through your Big Shot to get an image.  It is so easy and so fun.

The first leaf I tried was a Silver Maple.  This is the tree that is in front of my cottage.  It worked pretty well but the image was not strong enough.  Apparently different leaves have a different amount of water in them.  Too much water makes a mess (I know!  I tried that too) and too little water doesn’t leave a deep enough impression.  The Silver Maple might have worked in the spring but now it is Fall and I think it is not as moist as it could be.  Next I tried a purple Aster.  That made a mess.  Then I found a teeny fern growing underneath my lilac bushes.  I worked perfectly!  I tried to find a bigger fern but there were none to be found.

To make this card, take a piece of copy paper and fold it in half.  This protects your Big Shot and plates.  Next place a piece of cardstock inside the copy paper with a leaf or leaves on top.  If you would like two images, place another piece of cardstock on top of the leaves.  Close the top of the copy paper over the cardstock and run it through your Big Shot.  It is that simple.

If you would like to see a video on this technique click HERE.  That will take you to Splitcoaststampers where Lydia Fiedler made a tutorial.

The stamp I used is from the September Paper Pumpkin kit.  That is the great thing about Paper Pumpkin.  You can use the stamps over and over.

Now, let’s go see what Jackie and Buffy made using flowers or leaves.

Product List

7 thoughts on “Duoprinting With Chlorophyll

  1. Susan such a wonderful technique and beautiful card. I’ve tried this with flower and they turn to muddy images, but I appreciate your description of different leaves and how you may have to try repeatedly to find the perfect leaf. Now I don’t feel so bad about my failures!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is SO cool, Susan!! In my mind, I’m seeing dozens of stampers, all scouring their yards and lanes for different leaves to try out! 🙂 I know I’ve got a few different ones in my area! Thanks so much for sharing – your card is fabulous! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The three of you are incredibly talented. I love your blog hops and the things y’all come up with. This is by far my favorite! At least for a year! Awesome, I am going to try each of these techniques. I’d love to stamp with the three of you! LOVE the talent explosion!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. WOW – I had to try this technique this morning, and I was amazed! The leaf felt really dry (it IS the first day of fall, after all), but it turned out beautifully. I’m sad that I forgot to do two at a time, so only got one print, but I’ll do more (on Very Vanilla next time). I used hackberry leaves (I think; basically I know maple, pine, cedar, and “miscellaneous deciduous or evergreen.” But my dad, who knows the name of every tree in the woods, said hackberry, so I’m going with that.) You rock, Susan!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Beautiful Leaves | Stamping with Buffy

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.